Hospital PP (UK)
Hidden by trees and only accessible via small country roads, we found this beautiful old hospital building forgotten and decayed in the Welsh countryside. Originally owned by Sir Walter Bagot, a prominent Staffordshire barrister. In 1828 the place was rebuilt in the Elizabethan style, as it is seen today, as a residence for the second Lord Bagot.
After being sold it opened in 1937 as relief hospital and convalescent home for 87 patients from the overcrowded much larger Asylum D in nearby vicinity. During the war the hospital housed 120 patients. At that time a Prisoner of War (POW) camp was established on the grounds. The place was abandoned in 1989, sold to a builder in 1992, but is still standing empty and derelict. It is a Grade 2 listed building and not possible to demolish.
The interior has an amazing fine oak staircase and there are beautiful wood carvings and many nice details everywhere. Just the facade itself is very beautiful. Great explore and stunning building.
The main door. Beautiful building with lots of details.
Another exterior shot.
Moving towards the back of the building.
The old kitchen.
Rooms on the first floor.
Corridor on first floor.
The amazing fine oak staircase.
Columns in front of the main staircase.
Fisheye of the stairs.
Another shot of these beautiful stairs.
The room behind the main entrance doors.
Lots of beautiful wood carvings and details around the building.
Angle above a door.
A phone on the floor with switches to “Office”, “Staff room”, “Kitchen”, “Dormitory 1″ and “Dormitory 2″.
The fireplace, close up.
Cabinets with poison…
A cabinet with drawers.
The main hall of the building with a stage.
Some stairs without railing.
A cool light switch from the stage room.
Corridor in the upper floors.
Room at the top floors.
Another room from the top floors. A library or office perhaps.
Almost every room has its own fireplace.